2004-04-20 - 1:04 a.m.

Prices Fell, Thankfully My Grandmother Didn't...

You just have not experienced time moving slowly until you have taken an 80 year old woman to Super Wal-Mart... Between the usual joy that is Wal-Mart and the fact that she walks super slow not to mention that she still can�t hear, I swear it was the longest shopping trip of my life... She was so excited about it though I just can�t bring myself to really complain about it much...

I have spent the last couple of days dealing with grandparent things... I�m happy to do stuff for them, just some days it really makes you tired... And three days of it is more than enough...

Friday, we started cleaning out their file cabinet, which was quite the adventure... I swear they have the most random paperwork ever... My sister took over their bills because my grandmother couldn�t keep track of them (which is way past due, no pun intended), but they do have the receipt for when they got their electric service turned on � in 1942!!! It was cool to see, though my grandmother insisted we keep it because we might want to get their $5 back if their power ever gets turned off... I also found paperwork from Polio Insurance, something I had never even heard of...

Saturday, first my grandfather brought me some pipe he says I can use for poles to build a cover for my patio that is not even built yet... He has been really worried about that, and had to tell M all about how to build it because he just might not be around... I don�t have the heart to tell him that I probably won�t use some old rusty semi pipe for a patio if I ever get one built, but I do love that he wanted to do it for me... He is always making little projects for me and my sister, it�s way too cute! Then M and I headed out to their house to go look at some old car stuff � I just discovered a friend of my grandfather has a ton of old cars in his yard so we wanted to check it out... He had a truck cab like M is looking for but turns out it belongs to his son... Also out there are a bunch of cars that would be really amazing if they hadn�t been sitting in a really muddy area for so long � �54 Buick 2-door hardtop, �34 Ford, �47 Chevy... Sad to see them in such bad shape...

Then today, I had to go back out there early because my grandfather made an appointment with a salesman for estate planning... I really hate people who try to scare little old people into buying stuff they really don�t need and this was one of those kind of guys... Luckily my dad and I were both there to kinda scare him a little and he didn�t stay long... Then I got to take my grandma on the Wal-Mart excursion, which took up most of the day... We finished up the top drawer of their file cabinet though I have a lot of homework looking into all their insurance policies and seeing what is valid...

It was after 5pm when I finally got home... Organizing my grandparents is a full-time job, not sure what will happen when I start working regularly again...

~~|~~

Oddly enough... I've had lots to say and no time to say it...

The soundtrack of my life... The click of idiots moving the mouse over the smite button...

Other randomness... Brake core charges suck!!

used - test drive - new

recent entries...

Moving Sale!!! - 2004-08-26
Fort Worth Spring Rally... - 2004-04-26
Prices Fell, Thankfully My Grandmother Didn't... - 2004-04-20
Out of Lockdown... - 2004-03-31
Putting the Funk in Functional... - 2004-03-05


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

All text and images on this page are mine... Yes, I took the photos and/or did the paintings... Don't make me sue you, it won't be pretty...

hosted by DiaryLand.com