2004-03-05 - 2:12 a.m.

Putting the Funk in Functional...

Okay, so I have no idea how suddenly it has been 3 weeks since I updated... Okay, maybe I kinda know, but really the fault lies with whoever reminded me I have friggin spider solitaire on my computer... Actually I kept meaning to update, just never quite got around to it... I�m horrible at getting things done if I have nothing to do, I work way better under pressure and deadlines... So here�s a huge-ass entry to catch up a little...

And well, it�s not like anything earth shattering has happened... In fact I think it would be more accurate to say I have been in a bit of a funk here... I am doing better the last couple of days, but have really been kinda down... Nothing fatal, just some things bothering me... Probably I would have felt better all along had I just sat down and written about them, but that would have just been too easy...

First off, I got my feelings pretty hurt by someone I consider to be one of my best friends... She was upset about some other stuff and was pretty rude to me, and I got my feelings hurt... I was really worried about her and called a mutual friend, which somehow she got upset about that too... I figured it would blow over once she calmed down, but haven�t heard from her since... I sent her a card hoping to bridge things a little but no such luck... I miss her a lot, I used to talk to her every day, but evidently that feeling is not mutual... I don�t know... It just makes me really sad...

Also, the boy has really been getting on my nerves - doing a little taking me for granted, complaining about stuff and just generally being an idiot... Seems like anytime I do anything nice for him, all I hear about is the negative... He has been talking about wanting to go for clam chowder so the other day I was at the grocery store and picked him up a couple of cans to tide him over... Instead of saying thank you, he says �canned clam chowder sucks�... Um yeah... I don�t think I�m wrong getting a bit out of sorts about that kind of thing... Last night started out well, he brought me tulips, then proceeded to act like an ass, thereby canceling out all of the tulip points... We talked about it though and hopefully he will be more conscious of the way he says things...

I do have to give him major kudos for valentine�s day though � he brought me a HUGE bouquet of cool yellow and fuschia tulips and because he knows I am trying to stay on my diet again, he brought me a big heart filled with atkins bars instead of candy and he had taken the bars and cut them into heart shapes to fit in the candy slots... I thought that was just adorable... See, he has potential... If only he can make a habit of thinking before he speaks...

And, speaking of weight, that is the other thing that has me kinda down right now... I have gained back some of what I lost just not paying attention... Suddenly, the clothes are not fitting so well and I saw some pics of myself from a couple of weeks ago I�d rather not have seen... I have *got* to get my ass back in gear... I am sure that is a lot of what has me not feeling so great at the moment...

Today was actually a fairly productive day... Well at least I put on real clothes instead of fleece pants, so hey *that�s* progress right there...

I met with my friends Greg and Eric today about legal and soap stuff... They are opening their own advertising business, Juan Carlos Ad Shop, I really like some of their ideas on things, but it�s really different working with guys who normally do ads for huge companies... I am hoping to get some legal stuff together very soon and get that up and running... I think I would be more motivated if I had something going there and could work towards getting new clients... This waiting is killing me... I also need to be working on some soap stuff... I am just horrible at getting things done when I don�t have to do anything... I get tons accomplished when I have no time for anything...

While I was out, I checked into Curves... I�d like to get back into working out again but with no real work things lined up, I am thinking this would be much more affordable than the trainer... It doesn�t look very impressive from just looking but I am scheduled to go in tomorrow to try it out, it may be better than it looks... The only thing that may get me is that it has weird weird hours, 9am-12pm and 4pm to 7pm... Mid day would be when I would be more likely to go I think... I certainly wouldn�t make it over there early or before coffee...

It was just before 4pm when I tried to stop by there so I killed some time in the antique and fun stores nearby... It�s been a while since I went wandering there, I used to go all the time when I had to be in the office... The bad news is that I found a red leather briefcase that I just know should come home with me... Now that I know Trophy Queen will be at the RoundUp, I may see about talking to her about making me one... I am just sure I could get way more work done with a new briefcase...

Oh, and the boy�s boss told him today if we can�t get the �49 running well enough to take it to Austin, we might be able to take his �38 (I think) sedan... Um, if that offer stands, I may not want to get mine running for the show!!

Anyway, so that should catch you up overall, but here are some specific things... Some are links, some are entries in my lj from that time period, some are just random thoughts...

~|~

My sister�s physical therapy professor is the sister to this woman...

~|~

“WTF???”

In other news, they�re not rats... They�re sponge monkeys... Yeah, um, that makes a difference...

~|~

[This one is from a couple of weeks ago]

So my day started off a little cranky... Nothing major, just the usual rushing around and trying to get coffee, but definitely not the relaxing kind of morning I like... I was getting ready to head out to my grandma�s for the day, but had some calls, then realized all my jeans were still in the washing machine, and when I finally thought I was just about ready to go, my yard guy showed up... So, when I left, I was already running late and my grandparents were waiting on me to eat lunch...

I stopped to put gas in my car, because of course it is empty when I run late, and as I was filling my tank, a little old man pulled up... He got out of his car at the pump next to me and looked over... I must have looked kinda stressed or maybe just been lost in thought because he said to me, �Don�t look down, look up! Look at this gorgeous day!� He went on about how most folks just go on not appreciating the little things, like a pretty sky and a nice breeze... I chatted with him for a few minutes as I finished filling up and left with a smile on my face... I spent the afternoon with my grandparents, which I don�t get to do nearly enough... Then headed to my dad�s house where we worked on the car for a while...

The old man was right, it was a beautiful day today...

~|~

The Surrealist Compliment Generator...

~|~

Dating advice...

~|~

Learn French...

~|~

Something to do with all that dog hair on my floor...

~|~

[This is from when I went to see the boy�s home town a week or so ago]

Well, I�m back from 1987, I mean west Texas, though evidently they are pretty much one and same... There was plenty of big hair and acid wash jeans (and that was just M�s mom) and for just a minute I wanted to drive to the Circle K in a bitchin� camaro and wear my sunglasses at night and all that crap... Then I discovered there was at least a Starbucks in town so I could maintain a small bit of normalcy in my life and felt somewhat better...

The drive was long but fun and we saw a bunch of cool old cars... A freaky hillbilly guy complimented my hair (�That hair sure is something, I like that [insert creepy laugh here]� � ewwwww!!) but luckily we were leaving when that happened... The town itself is actually kinda pretty, has a neat little downtown area where we hit some antique shops and a river with some great trails to walk on... Part of it though is built around a mostly dry lake � it used to be full but being west Texas, it�s now at like 3% of its capacity and you see boat docks that go to nothing and it looks kinda sad... Ate some yummy food, I am now a big fan of the mexican breakfast taco place! Also we ended up one night with some friends at a weird little karaoke place (and now I can�t get �Bad Bad Leroy Brown� out of my damn head!!!!) drinking car bombs... Strangely enough, I only wanted to kill M a couple of times and that has got to be a new record for the amount of time I can be with him at once... He bought a couple of trucks and got some of his car stuff, which was the whole point, so that is good, and I got out of town for a couple of days...

I am definitely glad to be home though...

~|~

If you�ve made it this far, congratulations and good night!

~~|~~

Oddly enough... The car journal has been updated too...

The soundtrack of my life... The ceiling fan - it's friggin' 80 degrees here today... Blech!!

Other randomness... Omarosa got fired!!! hehehe!!!

used - test drive - new

recent entries...

Moving Sale!!! - 2004-08-26
Fort Worth Spring Rally... - 2004-04-26
Prices Fell, Thankfully My Grandmother Didn't... - 2004-04-20
Out of Lockdown... - 2004-03-31
Putting the Funk in Functional... - 2004-03-05


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

All text and images on this page are mine... Yes, I took the photos and/or did the paintings... Don't make me sue you, it won't be pretty...

hosted by DiaryLand.com